Migrating TeamCity from its internal database

When I first installed TeamCity, a continuous integration tool from JetBrains, I went with its default setup, which uses its internal database to keep track of builds and so on. TeamCity displays a warning that the internal database should only be used for evaluation and that if using TeamCity for production purposes it highly recommends using an external database.

This is a task that’s needed doing for a while but I’ve not really been looking forward to it. Finally, today I bit the bullet, grasped the nettle, and every other cliche (and like the readers of this sentence are wishing) got on with it!

As we’ve been using TeamCity now for five months there is quite a bit of data that I didn’t want to lose so I wanted to migrate the data. The instructions are quite detailed and I feel can cause a bit of confusion but basically there are three steps to follow.

  1. Create an external database. For me this was Microsoft SQL server, version 2008 R2. In Management Studio I created a new database called TeamCity and a new login. I right-clicked on the new login, selected properties and mapped the user to this new database.
  2. I then downloaded the native driver for SQL Server for TeamCity to use. I got the MS sqljdbc package from Microsoft. The extension said it was an exe but it is a zip file. Un-packing it I put the sqljdbc.jar into the correct folder following the TeamCity instructions
  3. Then again following the instructions I created a database.properties file putting in the appropriate values. Make sure you look closely at the typing since I had some problems running the maintainDB tool when it couldn’t find the correct driver.
  4. Shut the teamcity service down.
  5. I then needed to run the maintainDB tool to move data into the new database. I had some problems here. The instructions explicitly state that you only need to specify two arguments: -A and -T. However, you also need to specify the source. Thankfully I found this post and the excellent comments by my namesake . Once I specified the three arguments then I could run maintainDB with no problems.
  6. Re-start the TeamCity service and see it pick up the new settings.

I suspect that a few more times doing this and it won’t feel so daunting.

 

Leave a Reply

